Skip to main content

Savery Library

Savery Library is dedicated to helping every student, faculty member, staff member, alumni, and Talladega Citizen.

About Us

Our Mission

The mission of Savery Library is to provide students, faculty, and staff with the resources and opportunities to support the mission and goals of Talladega College by selecting, acquiring and maintaining materials in all formats. Exemplary leadership in accessing, using, and evaluating the library?s program is a commitment strongly valued for maintaining a quality academic support unit for all patrons.

About Us

The murals are a special attraction. These were painted by Hale Woodruff, a prominent Black artist, and unveiled at the dedication of the library. There are three panels on the west wall in the lobby; The Mutiny, The Court Scene, and The Return to Africa, which represent the Amistad Incident. On the east wall are three panels representing An Underground Railroad Scene, The Opening Day of School at Talladega College, and The Building of Savery Library.

What is depicted here eventually led to the founding of the American Missionary Association and Talladega College. A replica of the Amistad Ship is embedded in the center of the floor in the lobby. It has been a tradition, through the years, that no one walks on the ship’s replica because of its historical significance to the college. A sketch of the Amistad is also found on the bookplate that is placed in front of each book in the library.

On the wall above the circulation desk is the college seal which bears the charter title of the college, Collegium Talladegeneses, and the legend, Pro Christo et Humanitate. On the opposite wall is the epitaph of Edward Courtenay, Earl of Devonshire, written in 1556 by an unknown author.

Borrowing

Students

  • Must have a valid Talladega Student ID
  • Books - 2 week loan period (limit 5)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Faculty

  • Must have a valid Talladega College ID
  • Books - 3 week loan period (limit 10)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Staff

  • Must have a valid Talladega College ID
  • Books - 3 week loan period (limit 5)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Alumni and Talladega Citizens

  • Must have a valid Driver's License (see How To... section for information on how to get a Savery Library Card Account)
  • Books - 2 week loan period (limit 5)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Fees

  • Fines - 0.25 per day per item, max fine $5.00
  • Lost/damaged book - 

Renewals

  • Each item can be renewed two times.
  • Item cannot be renewed if it is on hold for another individual.
  • To renew an item, please call the circulation desk 256-761-6284, you will need your ID# and the book title.

Computer & Internet Use Policy

*WiFi is available for anyone on campus. Please speak with a Savery Library Staff member to receive the login information*

Users are prohibited from:

Viewing Inappropriate or Unlawful Content

Content that is fraudulent, harassing, embarrassing, sexually explicit, profane, obscene, intimidating, discriminatory, hostile, suggestive, defamatory, or otherwise unlawful or inappropriate may not be downloaded or sent by e-mail or any other form of electronic communication (such as Internet postings, newsgroups, chat groups, voice mail, paging system, music, graphic and video files, etc.) or displayed on or stored in any Talladega College IT Resource. The Internet is a worldwide network of computers that contains millions of pages of information, some of which may contain offensive or inappropriate material.

Circumventing Established Security

Users may not attempt to circumvent Talladega College data protection measures or attempt to uncover security loopholes.  Users may not gain or attempt to gain unauthorized access to restricted areas or files on Talladega College Information Technologies.  Users should not tamper with any software protections or restrictions placed on computer applications, files or directories. Users must immediately report suspected network, hardware or software vulnerabilities. Users will not attempt to demonstrate or exploit suspected security vulnerabilities. Users may not download or use any unauthorized security or “hacker” tools or devices.

Violating Network Security.

Users will not conduct network mapping, discovery, port scans, traffic analysis, traffic logging or any other information gathering/discovery technique from any Talladega College Information Technologies device unless that action is specifically authorized in their normal duties and responsibilities and approved by the Talladega College IT Department. 

In order to enforce these policies, the Information Technology Department may:

Implement Additional Security Measures: 

The Talladega College IT Department reserves the right to impose additional security restrictions and procedures in the future as necessary.

Monitor Internet Use:

Monitoring includes, without limitation, any activity performed on a Talladega College Information Technology Resource including Internet Sites visited, material uploaded/downloaded by Users to/from the Internet, and email sent and received by users.


Computer Lab Policy

It is expected that the computer lab will maintain a quiet, library-like atmosphere so the patrons can use their time productively and with few distractions.  Although students are sometimes required to work in groups for some class projects and need to talk among themselves, this must be done in a controlled manner.  If there are groups in the lab doing projects, enforcing the quiet policy may be more difficult, but still needs to be done.  In addition, groups of students are not allowed to remove chairs from operational workstations in order to gather around one computer.

  • Patrons may use the computers to check e-mail and to browse the Internet for personal use as long as computers are available for academic use.  If computers are needed for academic use, patrons doing personal work will be asked to leave.
  • Listening to music or watching videos without headphones is strictly prohibited. 
  • No food, drinks, or tobacco products are permitted in the lab at any time.
  • All cellphones are to be turned to quiet mode while in the lab.
  • At no time should computer users attempt to alter any software or hardware settings, attempt to breach computer security or damage equipment in any way.
  • All computers will be signed off 15 minutes prior to the lab’s closing.

Library Rules & Policies

NOTE: All rules are subject to change, and new rules may be added as needed.

Food and Drinks:

  • Food is allowed ONLY in the Reference Rooms and in the Study Rooms.  Please be respectful and clean up your trash.
  • Drinks are allowed in the library, but they must have a lid.
  • Drinks and Food are NOT allowed in the Computer Lab. If it is seen, you will be asked to throw it away, if you refuse, you will be asked to leave the Computer Lab.

Noise:

  • Please be respectful and try to speak with a quiet voice.  You may not be studying, but others are.
  • Only listen to music/watch videos (on any device) if you have headphones (used at a level only you can hear). 
  • The 2nd floor is considered a quiet study area.  Users speaking loudly or using devices that can be heard by others will be asked to lower the volume of their conversations or devices and/or be asked to leave the area.
  • Library staff reserve the right to ask persons who are noisy or disruptive to contain or reduce the noise. After a warning, staff may ask patrons to leave the library. In the event that patrons are not responsive to these requests, Campus Police may be called.
  • Students, staff, and faculty are asked to report excessive noise to staff at the Circulation Desk on the main floor.

Mobile Phones:

  • Cell phones are required to be set to vibrating/silent ring in the library. All conversations should be quiet and not disrupt others. If you are having a conversation or using a tone that disturbs others, you may be asked to leave the library.

Other:

  • No tobacco use of any kind is permitted on the Talladega College campus.
  • Students may visit websites such as Facebook and YouTube on the computers in the building, but they may be asked to move if someone needs the computer for academic purposes.

Collection

Collection
Savery Library has a collection of over 50,000 items. The library has open stacks which means students may go into the stacks. The online catalog is provided by EBSCO Discovery, which enables patrons to access the library’s book holdings. The remaining Dewey Decimal items are being converted into Library of Congress during academic year 2018-2019.
Reference books are located on the first floor of the library. Reference books, textbooks, and course material cannot be checked out. Electronic reference resources may be accessed from computers in the Computer Lab.
Periodicals are donated from time-to-time by loyal alumni or retirees of Savery Library. We are proud to display these donations on the 2nd floor in the magazine racks. If you have any questions, please ask the circulation desk.
Currently, the library has only three newspaper subscriptions, The Anniston Star, The Chicago Crusader and The Daily Home. They are housed in the Reference Room on the newspaper rack. The newest editions are at the top.
Archives Catalogs
The institution ensures the availability of archived official catalogs, digital or print, with relevant information for course and degree requirements sufficient to serve former and returning students. These catalogs are available in Savery Library College Archives. A request form needs to be submitted to the College Librarian. These catalogs are available during normal library hours. If a digital catalog is requested, please allow up to 48 hours for processing, the item will then be emailed to the email address on the request form. The official catalogs that are available are from 1870-2018. (See Forms tab)
Archives and Archived Information
The archives are located on the 2nd floor and are open by appointment only. Patrons wishing to use archival materials must submit a request in advance to the College Librarian (see Forms Tab). Materials must be used in the presence of a library staff member. The librarian can make copies of items in the archives.
Galangue Artifacts
The Galangue African Artifact Room is located on the 2nd floor.  Tours and information are available upon request.
Collection Development
Savery Library’s Collection Development Policy is on file in the Office of the College Librarian. As a document, it aids in the acquisition and the coordination of selection of materials for the library as well as weeding materials from the collection. The library staff values your participation in this important phase of library policy. Your recommendations for materials that you would like to see in the library are always welcome and encouraged, please see the Forms tab.

Library FAQs:

1. How many books may a student borrow?

The Library does not limit the number of books a student may borrow.  The loan period for books is two weeks, and the late fee for overdue books is ten cents per day per book.

2. Does the Library have movies? 

Yes.  The Library also has several DVDs that are subject based. Please speak with a Savery Library Staff Member and they can assist you.

3. Can students check out reference books or magazines?

Reference books and magazines may not be checked out, but students may make copies. Savery Library follows all Copyright Laws.   https://info.legalzoom.com/copyright-laws-textbooks-22159.html 

4. Does the Library have any popular fiction?

Yes, the Library does have a small section of popular fiction, but the overall collection focuses on academic materials.

5. Are cell phones allowed in the Library?

Cell phones are allowed, but all cell phones should be set to silent.  Texting in the Library is fine, but all calls should be made outside of the building.

6. Are students allowed to have food and drink in the Library?

Yes, students may have food and drinks in the Library, but must eat in the Reference Rooms or Study Rooms.  This policy is subject to change if students do not clean up their trash. At no time will food or drink be allowed in the Computer Lab.

7. Is the Library open during student breaks?

The Library is closed whenever the College is officially closed, please check with a member of the Savery Library Staff to ensure accurate closings.  

8. Does the Library have any study rooms?

The Library has a study room that may be reserved (with sufficient notice) and the Savery Library Staff is in the process of creating another study room.  

9. Are there computers in the Library?

Yes, the Library has 56 computers  in the computer lab, 2 Macs in the Lobby, and 5 computers in the Main Reference Room for student use.  Students are free to use Facebook and YouTube, but they will be asked to move if another student needs the computer for research purposes.  Headphones are required for listening to music or watching videos.

10. What if research leads the student to items at other libraries?

If the Library does not have a book a student needs, the student can arrange to borrow the book from another library using Interlibrary Loan. Please see the Forms Tab (under the Home tab) to download a Book Request Form or speak to a Savery Library Staff member.

11. Can students use the Library’s e-books, journals, or online content from home?

Yes, to gain remote access to e-books found in the Library’s catalog, you will need to login to your MyTalladega and access the item from the Online Catalog.  If you are a guest or do not have access to a MyTalladega account, please contact a Savery Library Staff Member and someone will assist you in accessing the information you require.

12. What is the Library of Congress classification?

The Library of Congress subject heading system of classification is a system used for categorizing books by subject.  Details of the system can be found by visiting “Library of Congress Classification Outline”  (courtesy of the Library of Congress).

Information on finding books on the shelves using the system can be found by visiting “From the Online Catalog to the Shelf” (courtesy of the University System of Georgia).