Skip to main content

Savery Library

Savery Library is dedicated to helping every student, faculty member, staff member, alumni, and Talladega Citizen.

Citation & Writing Help

APA Style Guide

Shows how to cite in APA style using a variety of sources, including: books, journal articles, other electronic resources, videos, and face-to-face interviews. A separate section also focuses on proper formatting for in-text citations.


Grammar Check

What is Grammarly?

Grammarly automatically detects grammar, spelling, punctuation, word choice, and style mistakes in your writing.  You will need to sign up for a free account.


Citation Generators

What is NC State University Citation Builder ?

THE CITATION BUILDER IS BASED ON THE FOLLOWING CITATION MANUALS:

American Psychological Association 6th edition

Modern Language Association 7th edition

Modern Language Association 8th edition

Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition

Council of Science Editors

 

BibMe citation generator logo

What is BibMe?

BibMe is a free automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, and Chicago formatting, utilizing auto-fill features for the creation of bibliographies or works cited pages. Some advanced features require a subscription.

Citation Machine Logo

What is Citation Machine?

Citation Machine is a citation creator very similar to BibMe which uses a streamlined 3-step process and auto-fill features to generate citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. As with BibMe, some advanced features require a subscription.


Formatting & Style Guides

APA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)

MLA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)

Get one-on-one help with your paper from a Savery Library Staff Member.

Please call 256-761-6284 to set up a time.

Tutoring is also available through Student Success Center 256-761-6328

1. How should a student begin the research process for a paper?

Assignments will vary from teacher to teacher, but it is never a bad idea to start in reference for an overview of the topic.  Then the student should progress to the catalog to search for additional books and the online databases to search for articles.  Librarians are happy to assist with any research needs.

2. What is the difference between searching an online database and searching on the Internet?

When searching online databases, students will find articles that can be considered as respected, verifiable research sources.  Typically students will find articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and reference books in these databases and can be assured that the sources are appropriate for academic writing. 

When searching the Internet, students may find good information, but extra steps are needed in verifying the validity/accuracy of such information.  In addition, most Internet sources are typically not considered academic/scholarly and may be disallowed by many teachers.  The library staff is happy to answer any questions about evaluating Internet sources.

3. What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is just like a standard bibliography with the addition of a summary of each source.  Information on annotated bibliographies can be found by visiting “How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography”(courtesy of Cornell University Library). 

Information on MLA style can be found by visiting “MLA Style,” (courtesy of Williams College Libraries).

4. How can a student avoid plagiarism?

Plagiarism is a serious offense and cannot be fully addressed in a short answer.  Generally, you always give credit to ideas you are quoting or paraphrasing.  For more specific information, ask your teacher, ask a librarian, or visit the very detailed plagiarism handout created by the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).