Skip to main content

Savery Library

Savery Library is dedicated to helping every student, faculty member, staff member, alumni, and Talladega Citizen.

Savery Library Policies

Policies and Procedures

To ensure broad use of Savery Library, please adhere to the guidelines below:

  • Eating and drinking will only be permitted in certain areas.
  • Playing, loud music, tobacco products, alcohol, and foul language are prohibited within the library.
  • Altering and installing software applications on the computer systems is prohibited.
  • Tampering with computer hardware, printers, or any other equipment in the library is prohibited.
  • Personal information must be saved on your personal drive and not on the computer.  Data will be deleted from the computers.
  • Only Talladega College students, faculty, staff, and alumni are permitted to circulate books and use the computer laboratory. However, the community is welcome to use books and journals within the library.
  • Requests are welcomed by all students, faculty, staff and alumni. Please refer to the proper form.

Computer Lab Policy

It is expected that the computer lab will maintain a quiet, library-like atmosphere so the patrons can use their time productively and with few distractions.  Although students are sometimes required to work in groups for some class projects and need to talk among themselves, this must be done in a controlled manner.  If there are groups in the lab doing projects, enforcing the quiet policy may be more difficult, but still needs to be done.  In addition, groups of students are not allowed to remove chairs from operational workstations in order to gather around one computer.

  • Patrons may use the computers to check e-mail and to browse the Internet for personal use as long as computers are available for academic use.  If computers are needed for academic use, patrons doing personal work will be asked to leave.
  • Listening to music or watching videos without headphones is strictly prohibited. 
  • No food, drinks, or tobacco products are permitted in the lab at any time.
  • All cellphones are to be turned to quiet mode while in the lab.
  • At no time should computer users attempt to alter any software or hardware settings, attempt to breach computer security or damage equipment in any way.
  • All computers will be signed off 15 minutes prior to the lab’s closing.

General Collection Policy

Talladega College is an institution rich in history whose mission is to equip its graduates for the global community through academic excellence, moral values, community service and professional development.


Talladega College provides library facilities and services to its faculty, students, staff, and other scholars and information users through Savery Library.

Savery Library supports the college’s mission to “equip its graduates for the global community through academic excellence, moral values, community service and professional development.”

Collection policies and principles have shifted in the 21st century. The library develops collections based on the curricular and research needs of the campus, with the assistance of the library committee and faculty members. The focus of the main collection uses a patron-driven acquisition model to provide access to materials for faculty and students. This is achieved through faculty textbook requests and student book requests. (See Forms Tab)


Savery Library Archives collects rare and unique materials, including manuscripts, personal papers, books, maps, photographs and other graphic materials, and college records, in specific collecting areas that fulfill the teaching and research missions of Talladega College. (See Special Collections Policy Tab)

Electronic resources are available through the current collection.  These include databases, electronic journals, and electronic books.  These resources must support the curricular and research needs of the campus community.   Electronic resources are reviewed on an ongoing basis to determine if they are relevant and cost effective.  We will explore alternative methods for providing access to high cost, low use electronic resources through our resource sharing partners and Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

The institution ensures the availability of archived official catalogs, digital or print, with relevant information for course and degree requirements sufficient to serve former and returning students. These catalogs are available in Savery Library College Archives. A request form needs to be submitted to the College Librarian. These catalogs are available during normal library hours. If a digital catalog is requested, please allow up to 48 hours for processing, the item will then be emailed to the email address on the request form. The official catalogs that are available are from 1870-2018. (See Forms Tab)


For information on donations to the general collections of Savery Library, please see the Gifts Policy.

Weeding Policy

Weeding (or de-selection) of materials in the collection is a component of collection development and serves to maximize the usefulness of the library collection. Weeding the collection provides space for new materials and increase the value of the collection by removing outdated/unwanted material or items in poor condition. The collection will be periodically examined for material to be withdrawn, usually under the direction of the College Librarian. Candidates for disposal will included superseded editions, duplicate copies no longer needed, alternative formats, out-of-date works and materials in poor condition. Procedures will include consultation with faculty and staff.

Deselection of materials is done with care.  There is no systematic process of deselection that fits all collections.  We may remove print materials that duplicate stable electronic archives.  Books or materials that are damaged, are held in multiple editions, or duplicated across collections may also be removed.  Lack of use may be a consideration but is rarely the sole factor in deselection.

Intellectual Freedom Statement

Savery Library adheres to the position governing censorship and intellectual freedom adopted by the Council of the American Library Association and published in the Association’s Library Bill of Rights. Librarians are guided by these principles of intellectual freedom rather than political, religious, or personal biases in making selection decisions. Savery Library’s collections contain and will contain various opinions which apply to important, complicated, and controversial questions, including unpopular and unorthodox positions. Factual accuracy, effective expression, significance of subject, and responsibility of opinion are factors that are considered when materials are selected for Savery Library.

Special Collections Policy

Savery Library’s Special Collections collects materials of enduring historical value in relation to Talladega College to advance the research, teaching, and instruction mission of Talladega College.

The following policies and procedures apply to all items offered for and acquired by donation to Savery Library Special Collections:

  • Prospective donors to Special Collections should consult Savery Library’s general policies on collections and gifts to familiarize themselves with Savery Library policies. Items offered for donation to Special Collections may be a better fit for the main collection. The final decision as to where items best belong rests with library administration.
  • Staff will evaluate items offered for donation based on their content and condition.
  • Prospective donors must submit an inventory or description of the items prior to their examination by Savery Library staff.
  • Prospective donors must identify copyright holders of the materials or show they have made a good faith search to identify them.
  • At the time of donation, donors who are not the copyright holders of collections which contain mostly copyrighted materials must provide a license from the copyright holder(s) granting permission to digitize donated materials to provide access online and to researchers.
  • At the time of donation, donors who are the copyright holders must convey the copyright or grant permission to Savery Library to digitize materials to provide access online and to researchers.
  • Releases are required from the performers of musical, dramatic, or other artistic productions and from interviewers and subjects of oral histories granting permission to provide access online and to researchers.
  • Donors of manuscripts, personal papers, rare books, maps, photographs or other graphic materials, and materials related to Talladega College should contact:

Caitlin Cox
College Librarian
Savery Library
Talladega College
627 Battle Street W
Talladega, Alabama 35160
256-761-6377

cmcox@talladega.edu

Circulation Policy

The circulation desk is located on the second floor of Savery Library. This is where materials can be checked out and reserve materials can be located.

Check-out privileges are granted to all currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff of Talladega College, all that is needed is the Talladega ID (student, staff, or faculty). Alumni and citizens of Talladega are also able to check out items. Alumni and citizens of Talladega are able to use their driver’s license and a piece of mail, dated within the past 30 days, with the individual’s name on the mail item. This will enable the staff to create an account for the individual in our circulation system.

Most of the items in the library circulate. However, reference items, textbooks, and archival items do not circulate. 

The loan periods for books are as follows: students-2 weeks, faculty-3 weeks, staff-3 weeks, Alumni-2 weeks, and Talladega Citizens-2 weeks.

An item may be renewed up to 2 times for a student, Alumni, and Talladega Citizens, and 3 times for faculty and staff, as long as it is not on reserve for another patron.

Overdue items are charged $0.25 per day per item.

Any lost materials should be reported to the library staff as soon as possible. If the book is lost, the individual must pay the current list price of the book. If the book is out-of-print, the current list price will be assessed at $25.00. Amazon.com is the vendor used to determine the current list price for books.

Textbook materials are those items selected by the faculty for classes. They are housed behind the circulation desk and are not circulated.  These items must be used in the library, in case of high demand, use will be limited to two hours.

Reserve materials are those selected by the faculty for special assignments, or because the materials are in short supply. They are housed behind the circulation desk under the name of the faculty member reserving them. All reserve materials must be used in the library. In case of high demand, use will be limited to two hours.

Reference books, periodicals, newspapers, textbooks, and reserve items may not be checked out to leave the library.

Interlibrary Loan Policy

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Materials that are not located in Savery Library and cannot be accessed through available databases may be secured through interlibrary loan for all faculty, staff, and students. 

The Library is responsible for compliance with the copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) and its accompanying guidelines, and shall inform its users of the applicable portions of the law.

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) Governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

Delivery time depends upon the availability of the item. When requested material is received, the borrower will be notified via e-mail and by telephone. Requested material is the responsibility of the borrower. Materials must be picked up and returned to the Circulation Desk.

Distance Education students may request Interlibrary Loan materials be mailed to their homes, the item will first come to Savery Library, then will be mailed from Talladega College Mailroom to the address, on file in the registrars office, for the student. The student will still have to follow the circulation guidelines.  

Lending to other libraries

Any library may request materials from our Library.

There are no ILL charges for books. There are also no charges for photocopies.

Talladega College ILL policies on charges, loan periods etc. are available to potential borrowers via the OCLC TAL Directory. They are subject to change at any time.

In accordance with standard practice and national guidelines, the borrowing library is responsible for replacing any lost item. This is true if the loss occurs through patron negligence or due to losses in the mail.

Donations Policy

From the founding of the College, Savery Library collections have been enriched by generous donations of books and other materials. Savery Library welcomes such donations when they support the College’s mission of teaching, research, and service.

Terms of Acceptance

Donations are evaluated by the same standards used to evaluate new additions to the collections. Donation materials that do not meet Savery Library’s criteria may be sold or discarded. Upon receipt, all donations become the property of Savery Library, which reserves the right to retain or reject donation materials and to determine location and conditions of use.

Donation Guidelines

Savery Library generally does not accept the following materials:

  • Duplicates of materials already in the Libraries’ collections
  • Scientific and technical materials more than 10 years old, unless of historical significance
  • Outdated media formats

Acknowledgements

Savery Library will generally acknowledge donations and place a bookplate in each item added to the collection at the request of the donor.  Requests for memorial inscriptions on bookplates will be accommodated whenever possible. Bookplates are generally not added to donations in Special Collections.

Tax Information & Appraisals

The Library cannot appraise donations made to it. Donations may be considered non-cash donations under IRS regulations; however, these regulations are complex and donors may wish to consult a tax, legal or accounting professional. IRS regulations and The University of Alabama policies prohibit the Libraries from providing appraisals or from advising on appraisals of gifts. Donors may wish to read IRS Publication 526, Charitable Contributions and/or IRS Publication 561 Determining the Value of Donated Property and/or consult with an attorney or an accountant. Donations offered to Special Collections require discussion in advance of applicable conditions and donors should contact Special Collections prior to making a donation. Resources that may be of use to donors include:

  • The American Library Association’s Rare Books and Manuscripts webpage contains helpful information for identifying and valuing rare and old materials along with tips for locating booksellers who perform appraisals. http://www.rbms.info
  • Membership Directory, Antiquarian Bookseller’s Association of America (ABAA), ABAA HQ, 20 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036 (212) 944-8291 http://www.abaa.org

American Society of Appraisers, http://www.appraisers.org/FindanAppraiser/FindAnAppraiser.aspx

Library Hours

Regular Semester Hours:

Monday - Thursday  
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 
7:00 am -5:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday 
11:00 am - 8:00 pm

 

COMPUTER LAB WILL CLOSE 30 MINUTES BEFORE ABOVE TIMES
*Hours may vary during summer session, school breaks and exams. Please call for updates!