Skip to main content

Savery Library

Savery Library is dedicated to helping every student, faculty member, staff member, alumni, and Talladega Citizen.

Library Services

Services Provided

Library Instruction

Teachers are encouraged to schedule instruction with the College Librarian for their students each semester. Instruction is taught based on requesting teacher and their class materials. Students can also request one-on-one instruction (see Forms Tab).

Circulating Materials

Talladega College ID cards (student, faculty or staff) must be used to check out materials. Alumni and citizens of Talladega are also able to check out items. Alumni and citizens of Talladega are able to use their driver’s license and a piece of mail, dated within the past 30 days, with the individual’s name on the mail item in addition to the Library Card Request Form (see Forms tab). This will enable the staff to create an account for the individual in our circulation system, after the account is created, only the Driver’s License is needed to check out items. Circulating materials may be checked out for 14 days. Materials may be renewed if they have not been requested by another patron. All books must be brought in for renewal. A library user will be assessed a fine if an item is not returned by its due date. The fine for all users is $0.25 per day, per item. The library user is responsible for paying all overdue fines, charges, and processing fees for damaged or lost items. Any lost materials should be reported to the library staff as soon as possible. If a book is lost, the student must pay the current list price of the book. If the book is out-of-print, the current list price will be assessed at $25.00. Amazon.com is the vendor used to determine the current list price for books.

Non-Circulating Materials 

Reference books, periodicals, newspapers, magazines, and reserve items may not be checked out to leave the library.

 Reserve Materials

Reserve materials are those selected by the faculty for special assignments, or because the materials are in short supply. They are housed behind the circulation desk under the name of the faculty member reserving them. All reserve materials must be used in the library. In case of high demand, use will be limited to two hours.

Photocopier

A photocopier is located in the admin area. It allows for wireless printing and faxing services.

Interlibrary Loan

Materials that are not located in Savery Library and cannot be accessed through available databases may be secured through interlibrary loan. Make requests at the circulation desk (see Book Request Form under the forms tab). Distance Education students may request Interlibrary Loan materials be mailed to their homes, the item will first come to Savery Library, then will be mailed from Talladega College Mailroom to the address, on file in the registrars office, for the student. The student will still have to follow the circulation guidelines.  

Macbook and Tablet

There are two Macbooks and four Samsung Nook Tablets available for in house use. 

Library Computer Laboratory

At no time should computer users attempt to alter any software or hardware settings, attempt to breach computer security or damage equipment in any way. All computers will be signed off 15 minutes prior to the lab’s closing.

Requests

Savery Library values the opinions of the students, faculty and staff at Talladega College. If you have a idea to better the library, please share it with us. 

On Campus Access

Please follow the link below:

Off Campus Access

  • Students: To access the online catalog and available resources, please logon to your MyTalladega. From there you will be able to access all of the databases and resources that Savery Library has available.
  • Alumni and Talladega Citizens: Please contact a Savery Library Staff Member and they will get you a guest pass. 

Getting Started

Savery Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases. 

Finding Books

How do I find out what books are in the library?  To find a book, eBook, DVD or other library material, search the Savery Library Online Catalog

 
Keep searches SIMPLE--use one to three important words, NOT a sentence
Decide whether you are searching for:  
  • Random words = Keyword search
  • A topic = Subject Search
  • An Author = Author Search (lastname, firstname)
  • Words in the title = Title Search

For each item included in the Search Results, the catalog displays the availability, the call number and the physical location within the library.

EBooks retrieved by your search will have a link within the item record that will take you directly to the full-text of the eBook. For off campus access, see the OFF CAMPUS ACCESS tab.  

How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf?  A Library of Congress call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.  

  • Items with call number beginning with A-Z are located in the general circulating collection in the stacks.
  • New books, reference book, DVDs, and popular fiction are located on the main floor of the library.

Please ask a Savery Library Staff Member for help reading the call numbers.

Finding Articles

How and where do I find scholarly articles?  The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching Savery Library's Online Catalog.  The Online Catalog contains multiple databases which include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

Purchase Requests

Want to recommend a resource for the library collection?

To recommend titles for purchase, please fill out a Book Request form under the Forms Tab and either email it to tclibrary@talladega.edu or bring it to a Savery Library Staff Member.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the item you want, please fill out the Book Request Form, and either email it to us at tclibrary@talladega.edu or speak with a Savery Library Staff Member.

When requested material is received, the borrower will be notified via e-mail and by telephone. Requested material is the responsibility of the borrower. Materials must be picked up and returned to the Circulation Desk.

Distance Education students may request Interlibrary Loan materials be mailed to their homes, the item will first come to Savery Library, then will be mailed from Talladega College Mailroom to the address, on file in the registrars office, for the student. The student will still have to follow the circulation guidelines. 

Borrowing

Students

  • Must have a valid Talladega Student ID
  • Books - 2 week loan period (limit 5)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Faculty

  • Must have a valid Talladega College ID
  • Books - 3 week loan period (limit 10)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Staff

  • Must have a valid Talladega College ID
  • Books - 3 week loan period (limit 5)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Alumni and Talladega Citizens

  • Must have a valid Driver's License (see How To... section for information on how to get a Savery Library Card Account)
  • Books - 2 week loan period (limit 5)
  • Audiobook - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • DVDs - 1 week loan period (limit 1)
  • Textbooks - In Library Use Only

Fees

  • Fines - 0.25 per day per item, max fine $5.00
  • Lost/damaged book - 

Renewals

  • Each item can be renewed two times.
  • Item cannot be renewed if it is on hold for another individual.
  • To renew an item, please call the circulation desk 256-761-6284, you will need your ID# and the book title.

Off Campus Access

  • Students: To access the online catalog and available resources, please logon to your MyTalladega. From there you will be able to access all of the databases and resources that Savery Library has available.
  • Alumni and Talladega Citizens: Please contact a Savery Library Staff Member and they will get you a guest pass. 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone: 256-761-6284

Email: tclibrary@talladega.edu

 

Alabama Virtual Library

The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research. Through the AVL, an equitable core of information sources is available to every student and citizen in Alabama, raising the level of excellence in schools and communities across the state. 

Any students that are not in the state of Alabama can still access this amazing resources. It can be access through the Savery Library Online Catalog from the students MyTalladega. If using AVL directly, the student can contact the College Librarian-Library Director and receive a username and password. 

Alabama Virtual Library 

Prep-Step (Learning Express)

A dynamic online learning platform from LearningExpress that can change the lives of students through academic success and preparation for today’s workplace. PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities is packed with tutorials, practice tests, e-books and high-stakes test preparation for self-guided skill building, career preparation and workforce readiness. Core Math and Science Skills, Core English Skills, College Success Skills, Career Preparation, Job and Career Accelerator, Computer Skills Center, Grad School Admissions Preparation, and Placement Test Preparation. Recursos Para Hispanohablantes. Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español.

Prep-Step

Global Road Warrior

Subtitles itself as 'the ultimate guide to the world' or 'the ultimate business travel guide' provides a broad range of practical information, available in twenty broad subject categories, for over 175 countries. 

Global Road Warrior